top of page

MY UNEXPECTED START AT UNIVISION

Hi Everyone!


Welcome back to another post. In case you don't know me, my name is Jasmine and I am passionate about all things related to the entertainment industry.


Now, many of you may or may not know that I actually interned at Univision Los Angeles the summer of 2019. This was truly an amazing time that I would suggest and encourage for anyone to apply once their internship program opens up. However, my journey to this program was, um, quite unconventional.


It all started the fall of my Senior year. I was applying like crazy to any full time role I could get my hands on, especially media and entertainment roles. I would get interviews to then not receive a job offer. In my search, I applied to the Emma Bowen Foundation, which focuses on helping students get entertainment and media internships once selected. I applied around December/January. I did a video interview and submitted everything you would need in job application. I didn't hear back until May, which gave me anxiety as graduation was approaching.


I was still applying and discouraged since I saw many students and friends receive full time offers, and I had yet to solidify my post graduate plans. Someone from the Emma Bowen Foundation then reached out to me saying they wanted to send my information over to Univision, and wanted to make sure I was interested and that I qualified. I sent my information over and preceded to wait.


Then I received news I hadn't wanted to receive: "We regret to inform you..." I wasn't selected for the internship. I was devastated, but then moved on since I couldn't really do anything at that point. I still didn't have anything lined up, and had just finished an internship that my supervisor had extended until a little bit after my graduation. Until, one Thursday everything changed...


I was still in Wisconsin packing my apartment up since I had a flight schedule in a couple of weeks back to LA, and planned to continue my job search there. When suddenly, I received a call from someone at Univision. It was a HR manager, who I actually interviewed for my Instagram Live series. She had asked a couple of questions and then asked if I can come in Monday to start the Univision internship program. I was flabbergasted as I still had to pack my apartment and fly home, but I didn't want to lose out on an amazing opportunity and said yes, I would be there.


So, I did what anyone would do. Okay, so what I would do, and packed everything up, changed my flight, and flew to LA all in 3 days. It was worth it as I had the best time of my life and started the opportunity of a lifetime. I hope this helps others realize that things do happen, and could happen in the most mysterious ways.


Let me know what you think of this :)

Jasmine Escareno at Univision Communications internship

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page